Allow Me To Introduce Myself..

Hello all,

Allow me to introduce myself! My name is Brittany and I am 23 years old. I currently reside in Whitby, Ontario and yes, let it be known that I AM CANADIAN! I graduated from the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) with my Bachelor of Science (Honours) last June.

Since graduating, I have not been able to find full time employment in my field (not surprising). SO, like many educated, yet unemployed graduates around the world, I have decided to travel to Korea to teach English!

I have started this blog for two reasons:

1. To provide insight and relay my experiences to others who are interested in or are in the process of applying to teach English in South Korea and

2. To keep my family and close friends updated on my life while living abroad for the next year

I`m going to start with all of the steps, in order, that I took to get to where I am at this point.

– First off, I graduated from university and have my diploma in hand. This may not seem like relevant information but in most cases, in order to teach (specifically in Asia), you do require a Bachelors degree.

– I enrolled in an 100 hour TESOL/TESL/TEFL Certification program with Oxford Seminars which consisted of a 6 day in-class component and a 40 hour online component. This course was $1000 and included all course materials, ESL teaching resources, access to the English Language School Directory and finally, their Graduate Placement Service. Let me forewarn you that the steps necessary to move forward in teaching abroad do not come at a small price tag.

– Following the completion of this course, I activated my Graduate Placement Service (in May). At this time, I chose my top 5 choices for where I wanted to teach. The placement service then walked me through creating a cover letter and resume, proofread it for me and gave me their suggestions on how to make it better. My placement advisor, Kevin (who works out of Toronto) sent my cover letter and resume to four different recruiters. These recruiters have direct contact with Korean schools (public and private). Their job is to help you find out a school which satisfies your needs, set up interviews for you etc. Of the four recruiters, I decided to work with Patrick Lee from ATC Recruiting. My suggestion is to work with someone who you feel completely comfortable speaking to.

– In terms of documents, there a bunch of things you will need in order to apply for an E2 work visa:

– Three sealed transcripts

– RCMP Criminal Record Check (notarized by a lawyer or notary public + the Korean Consulate)

– Photocopy of your university diploma + original (copy needs to be notarized by a lawyer or notary public + Korean Consulate)

– Colour copy of your Passport

– Health Statement

– Copy of your cover letter/resume

– 4 Passport photos (maybe 6, since you will need a couple for your health check once you get to Korea)

See this link for more information: http://www.atcrecruiting.com/wiki_view.php?kind=1&pNum=51

– Once I had all of these documents, Patrick applied for me to my first choice position (after I had gone through a list of job postings). The process went very smoothly for me since I was offered a job by my first choice school (start date: sometime in mid August (I’ll know for sure once I get my VISA and my flight is booked). Everything happened very quickly. I was offered the job, sent the contract, I sent the contract to Kevin (Toronto advisor) to read over it, he suggested that I clarify a few things, I got clarification about all of my questions from Patrick/the director of the school, I signed the contract and now I am preparing to leave!

– Once you have been offered a position, all of the notarized documents must be sent by courier to your recruiter. In my case, I sent mine to Patrick in California. Boy does it feel good to send those documents away. Your recruiter will then send all of the aforementioned documents to your school in Korea. Your school will apply for your visa (will take 7-14 days). A visa letter issuance number will be forwarded to your recruiter, then to you. At this point, you can apply for your visa in your home country! I am now at the point where I am waiting for my visa issuance number. I will let you guys know the steps to follow once I hear back from my recruiter.

Ok, I think that’s enough about the whole documentation process (I know this post is getting a bit lengthy). The most important piece of advice I can give you is to START EARLY!

I promise to keep everyone updated on what happens next and give you some insight into my experience in Korea once I get there!

If anyone has any questions, feel free to leave me a comment. I’d be more than happy to help you with the process, as it can be quite complicated.

Until next time, I leave you with this very fitting music video…

http://ind.pn/11hGyNY

2 thoughts on “Allow Me To Introduce Myself..

  1. My husband and I are leaving to teach english in Korea in the next 8 days! I will be following your blog and look forward to reading about your journey! I am nervous and excited at the same time but my sister is currently teaching in Korea and the expat support is amazing! Good luck!

    • That’s awesome! I still have about a month and a half until I leave and I’m nervous as well. I’m happy to share all my experiences with everyone. It’s great that you also have your husband with you, it will be an amazing experience for both of you. Where will you will be teaching, location wise? I read a few of your blog posts as well and I look forward to hearing about your first day 🙂

Leave a Reply

