Casablanca Sandwicherie in Itaewon

Yesterday, I spent a large part of my afternoon in Itaewon. Since it’s about an hour and a half trek to get there on weekends (with traffic), I don’t make it out there a lot. However, when I’m yearning for some comfort food and I’ve had enough Korean food, it’s always worth the trip. I met up with my friend Sarah and the original plan was to find a patio where we could relax but, it was SO hot that being outdoors actually felt like we were roasting in an oven. Sarah suggested Casablanca saying that I “HAVE TO TRY THEIR SANDWICHES!” I was pretty neutral considering my stomach was growling and I was ready to consume anything at that point.

Casablanca is located in the residential area of Hae Bang Chon (HBC), next to the Yongsan army base. Apparently, this area is extremely popular, as it attracts many foreigners. I didn’t realize I was missing out on this hidden gem until yesterday! The street was lined with a ton of restaurants, mainly burger joints but also a few other places. I’ll definitely be going back to scope out the area.

Casablanca has a small menu but the quality of their menu items make up for it! Also, the prices were extremely reasonable. For 9,000 won, I ordered the Morrocan chicken sandwich, a Moroccan salad and a bottle of water. Within minutes, our salad was brought to the table. It was SO good. I don’t know if it was the dressing, or the fact that the tomatoes were so cold and refreshing, but I knew it could only get better from that point on.

20140601-114324-42204555.jpg

20140601-114320-42200295.jpg

Next up was the sandwich. Although the presentation wasn’t anything to write home about, the taste was awesome. The bread was perfect, crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. The chicken was coated in a tasty mix of spices and was also filled with deep fried mashed potatoes, mayo, pickles, lettuce and tomatoes. There was some serious texture action going on in this sandwich and I was thoroughly impressed. The shrimp sandwich was especially tempting and perhaps I’ll try that one next time around.

20140601-114321-42201810.jpg

According to Sarah, she had never seen the restaurant so empty (when we first got there). Surely enough, it filled up VERY quickly. Seating is limited due its small size but I assure you, it’s worth the wait.

Directions: Take the subway or train to Noksapyeong station, walk straight out of exit 2 and take the first left. Walk straight along the road until you see the big kimchi pots. You will then see Casablanca on your left hand side.

Once we were finished, we made our way back towards Itaewon station. We stopped at Standing Coffee. This place was insanely busy. We were curious to know what all the hype was about. We saw people walking around with their blue lemonade, made with blue curacao syrup. We decided to try it out. I opted for the lemonade with gin (7000 won), while Sarah got the regular lemonade (5000 won). They both were delicious but if you don’t like your lemonade as tangy, I suggest the addition of the gin. It was fruity and flavorful, not too sweet and not too sour. I now know why this place was so crowded.

20140601-114326-42206473.jpg

At this point, Sarah and I went our separate ways. I also decided to get my eyebrows waxed at Tiffany’s Nails before making my way home. The lady did a good job and for once, the price was reasonable at 10,000 won. At the salons in Suwon, they charge upwards of 25,000 for an eyebrow wax, which is insane to me. Needless to say, it was an eventful day. The heat must have gotten the best of me because I got home around 5 and passed out until 7 pm.

Today has been quite relaxing. I plan to go to AK plaza soon to checkout their foreigner food selection. I have a gift card to spend and I figure since I’m such a foodie – what better way to spend it!

This upcoming week, we have Friday off. Michelle and I have booked a trip to Jeju Island with Seoul Hiking Group which leaves Thursday evening. For 275,000 won, this trip includes the trip from Seoul to Janheung ferry terminal, Jangheung to Jeju, 3 days of touring Jeju, covers all entrance fees (Mangjang cave, Sunrise Peak, Waterfall, Loveland and Hiking Hallasan), our beach pension accommodation, 3 breakfasts, 1 dinner and snacks on the bus. If anyone is interested in joining, I believe there are still a few seats left. There are pick up spots at Express Bus Terminal, Jukjeon, Singal, Manghyang rest stop and at Daejeon Bokhap terminal after 11 pm. Check out their Facebook page for more information!

I’m excited to see the “Hawaii of Korea.” I’m hoping the nice weather holds up.  I can’t wait to be on a beach looking at crystal clear water!

Until then, I hope everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

